Demon Slayer News

Demon Slayer: The Hinokami Chronicles

 Demon Slayer is a popular Japanese anime series based on a manga that is written and illustrated by Koyoharu Gotouge. The anime is produced by studio Ufotable.

The main plot of the series revolves around a young boy named Kamado Tanjiro who strives to become a member of the demon slayer corps to kill the demons and turn his sister Kamado Nezuko back to humans.

Demon Slayer Hinokami Keppuutan Release Date:

After the huge success of the anime and to answer the call of demon slayer fans all over the world,  Aniplex Japan has announced an official Demon Slayer game which is releasing on 15-Oct-2021 across various platforms including Playstation, Xbox, and Windows. The game’s official name is Demon Slayer—The Hinokami Chronicles.  It is already open for pre-orders.

The official reveal trailer of this game was released during one of E3’s digital conferences. It is available on YouTube, check it out if you haven’t already.


The game will follow the events that occurred in the original anime and uses those story elements in its story mode. The story mode of the game features our protagonist, Tanjiro Kamado. We follow his journey from a normal worker to a member of the demon slayer corps all for the sake of his sister Kamado Nezuko who has been turned into a demon. Tanjiro has sworn to turn her back to normal.

The game also features some events from the movie Demon Slayer Infinity Train that was released in 2020.



It is a “hack and slash” fighting game. The game will include various boss fights and quests based on the events from the original anime. There are 2 playing modes featured in the game.
One of them is the story mode which follows the original anime while the second is versus mode in which players can select various characters such as Hashiras, Tanjiro’s squad members, and other characters shown in anime to play against each other by forming teams of two fighters.
The versus game mode is the multiplayer mode while the story mode is supposed to be played offline.
To expand the fan base of Demon Slayer, the developers have decided to release it on multiple platforms so that fans from all the platforms can play it to their fullest.
Demon Slayer—The Hinokami Chronicles is announced to release on the following platforms:
● PlayStation 5
● PlayStation 4
● Xbox One X/S
● Xbox Series X/S
There is no announcement for a Nintendo Switch release yet but we might see it in the near future.

The game is going to be released in 3 different editions. The editions are:
● Digital Deluxe Edition
● Digital Standard Edition
● Physical Standard Edition
Each edition has its benefits we are going to discuss in detail.

Digital Deluxe Edition

The top-end edition of Demon Slayer—Hinokami Chronicles is the digital deluxe edition. The edition comes with 2 days of early access which allows you to enjoy the game before the official release date.

Also, this edition will give you the final selection avatar of game protagonist Kamado Tanjiro. A custom Playstation 4 theme and 10 additional character avatars will also be rewarded in this edition.

Moreover, 3 cute butterfly Mansion costumes and 8000 slayer points for level upgrade are also included. The price of this edition is 90$.


Digital Standard Edition

The digital standard edition of the game features some rewards which are quite good considering that it is the digital standard edition. The edition comes with Tanjiro’s final selection avatar (same as in the deluxe edition) and 2 extra character avatars including 1 character unlock key.


Physical Standard Edition

The physical standard which is the cheapest edition of the Demon Slayer game comes with 2 character avatars and 1 bonus character unlock key which is quite good considering the amount you have to pay for this edition (77$).



Demon Slayer Hinokami Chronicles is developed by CyberConnect2, a company that is famous for developing games related to anime. The company has produced several top-rated anime-based games like Naruto: The Ninja Storm series and Dragon Ball Z: Kakarot.

Aniplex Japan is the official publisher of the game. Ufotable (a Well-known Studio) which is the studio that produced the original Demon Slayer anime has provided many key illustrations for the development of the game. Following are the key aspects of the game.



Graphics play a vital role in the experience of the game. A game with a good art style and striking graphics can attract a wide variety of video game enthusiasts.

Keeping in view the importance of graphics and visual design the developers of Demon Slayer Hinokami Chronicles have developed enchanting graphics for the game with the help of Ufotable (Production Studio of Anime) which is demonstrated in the recently released trailer.


The fans of Demon Slayer anime all over the world are quite satisfied with the visual aspect of the game. The developers have done a remarkable job of staying true to the visual art style of the anime and converting the two-dimensional characters into this world of polygons.


Name Origin

The whole game of Demon Slayer Hinokami Chronicles is based on the original anime and movie of Demon Slayer but some people are wondering about the origin of the game name specifically the word Hinokami.


Hinokami is a term that is derived from the original anime; the actual full term is Hinokami Kagura (Dance of Fire God). It is a dance that is performed every year as a ritual in the family of Kamado Tanjiro.

In the anime, Hinokami Kagura is featured in episode 19 as Tanjiro uses the dance as a breathing technique to kill the demon Rui (Lower Five demon of Twelve Kizuki). However, this is not the end of Hinokami Kagura, there is still a mystery hidden behind it that may be revealed in the upcoming sequel of Demon Slayer.



In short, all we want to say is that the hype about the game Demon Slayer Hinokami Kagura is building up as it has such promising aspects for gamers and the fans of the anime. Let’s see if the game fulfills our expectations or falls flat like some other anime-based video games.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *