Demon Slayer Facts

10 Best Things About Hashira

The Hashira are nine of their generation’s most powerful demon slayers. Each Hashira has an own breathing pattern and associated skills. The Demon Slayer Corps’ highest-ranking officers. The Corps would not exist without these nine individuals. They are in charge of dealing with the most perilous problems in the organisation that no one else can handle.

hashira demon slayer 2

Although only a few of the elusive Hashira have made notable appearances in Demon Slayer, fans are already mesmerised by their eccentric nature and abilities. Eventually practically all of the Hashira work with Tanjiro and the gang later in the story.

The Hashira of the Demon Slayer Corps in Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba

demon slayer hashira wallpaper 1920x1200 6

The number nine is vital to the Hashira. Each generation has nine members; this number was intentionally chosen by Gotouge. Hashira, which translates to “pillar” in English, has nine strokes in Japanese. The word “柱” is written in Japanese, and it takes exactly nine pen strokes to write. In numerology, the number nine represents the peak of knowledge, experience, and wisdom. Because the Hashira represent the Demon Slayer Corps’ nine most powerful members, it’s an intriguing coincidence that the number nine is so important in the plot.

hashira demon slayer 5 1024x639 1

The Hashira have the most interesting appearances in the organization

Despite the fact that Koyoharu Gotouge is a master of character design, it appears that he went over and above in magnifying the appearances of each Hashira. Each Hashira has a distinct personality that distinguishes them from the rest, and their look is no exception. Hashira’s appearance reflects her powers as well as her personality.
Rengoku, for example, is from the Flame Hashira family. Each member of the family has bright yellow and red hair that resembles the mane of a lion. Obanai’s appearance mirrors his talents; his mouth has been slashed from the corners to approach his ears, giving him the appearance of a snake, but he hides this wound beneath the enormous bandage that covers his face. He also carries his white snake about with him around his neck.

demon slayer the hashira pillars 2000x1333 wallpaper 39

Each Hashira is quirky and unique

The Hashira will have nine members, each with their own personality. The Hashira, on the other hand, are noted for their individuality. They all have distinct personality features that distinguish them from one another. Tengen Uzui, for example, is known for his flamboyance and insistence on everything being “flashy,” exactly like him.Kyojuro Rengoku is known for his exuberant and exciting nature. Muichiro Tokito is recognizable by his lack of memory and his great impassiveness – traits that suit the Hashira of the Mists perfectly.

kimetsu no yaiba 1210083

Only the best can become a Hashira

Demon Slayers must demonstrate their strength if they hope to become Hashira. You can only become a Hashira in one of two methods. When you reach Kinoe rank, you must slay at least 50 demons or a member of Muzan’s Twelve Kizuki. The other option is to become a Tsugoku. Being a Tsugoku isn’t just about having wonderful relationships, contrary to common thought.

To be considered a Hashira’s Tsugoku, a Demon Slayer must demonstrate their strength and competence. Tsugoku can be attained by being sought by one of the current Demon Slayers or by applying. Both approaches necessitate a lengthy training period of 2 to 5 years.


They are responsible for finding a Tsugoku

Many of the strongest shonen heroes are unaware that they will not always be present. The Hashira, on the other hand, accept reality and look for a deserving Tsugoku to take their place. If the Hashira it serves gets crippled or retires, the Tsugoku will become the next Hashira. Although Demon Slayers can apply to become Tsugoku, many Hashira prefer to go out and find them on their own. The Hashira are in charge of passing the legacy along through the generations, thus they want to make sure that whoever they choose as their successor is just as committed to the cause.


Each Hashira has unique abilities

Each of the nine Hashira has their own Breathing Style, as well as a set of sword techniques to put it into action. Flame Breathing and Water Breathing are the only two breathing methods seen in each age of Hashira. However, this allows for a variety of breathing techniques to emerge between generations.

The current generation’s Flame Hashira was Rengoku. The current generation Water Hashira is Giyu Tomioka. However, some breathing techniques may appear unusual. For example, Shinobu Kocho utilises Insect Breath to inject lethal venom into his opponent. Obanai Iguro, on the other hand, practises Serpent’s Breath. He has the ability to make his blade slither like a snake.

hashira fan art kimetsu no yaiba

They have never wavered in their roles through several generations

The Hashira are the nine strongest Demon Slayers of their respective generations. They have existed for a long time and are at battle with Muzan Kibutsuji and his Twelve Kizuki. The Hashira’s dedication has never wavered through the decades. Each Hashira is committed to the duties that come with their position. The Hashira’s position is bolstered by the training they give to lower-level demon slayers. The Hashira not only serve the nine members’ best interests, but they also act as a pillar of discipline and fortitude for the entire generation.


Hashira are not all equally strong

It would have been easy to get away with it if Gotouge had written that all Hashira were as strong as each other. But that wouldn’t be realistic. The Hashira understand the hierarchy among the nine as to who is the weakest or the strongest. Despite the fact that there is no official rating, everyone’s standing is affected. Certain things can be estimated based on publicly available official figures. The strongest Hashira appear to be Tengen, Sanemi, Rengoku, and Himejima. This is determined by their arm wrestling rankings as well as their running speeds. Meanwhile, Obanai, Mitsuri, Muichiro, and Shinobu seem to be the weakest. Even if they are weak among the Hashira, they are still more stronger than the typical Demon Slayer.

ddxdz2f 4677867f 666e 433a 8a47 513c0df8c4f8

Every Hashira leads by example

Although every Hashira becomes a mentor to Tanjiro and the rest of the gang at some point in Demon Slayer, they lead the entire organisation by establishing good examples for all others to aspire to. These nine Hashira desire to help lower-ranked Demon Slayers grow stronger and lead by example, as demonstrated in Hashira training. Even when each Hashira personally trains Tanjiro and his comrades, there is always an important lesson they leave behind for the young Demon Slayers. Rengoku’s final remarks to Tanjiro, for example, were encouraging. He advised her to’set his heart on fire’ and to never stop looking ahead, since time would not stand still for him and he would grieve alone.

tumblr a2ce24f3259bd65153c710a00a1628e5 632276e3 1280

They realize their weaknesses

In shonen anime, it’s common for the strongest characters to appear to have no weaknesses – let alone acknowledge their own flaws. If they have one, it is quickly resolved and they instantly become stronger. Even though they have insane powers, they are still human at the end of the day.

The Hashira, on the other hand, are aware of their weaknesses. They have realistic expectations of what to expect when facing a high ranking demon. Even the leader, Kagaya Ubuyashiki, was stunned after Gyutaro and Daki’s defeat, as no high-ranking demon had been killed in a century.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *